• EMU Dean of Education resigns from board of failing Education Achievement Authority

    Comments: 0  | Leave A Comment

    jann-joseph-emuThe “school district for wayward schools”, Michigan’s Education Achievement Authority, has been under increasing scrutiny over the past year. Questions have been raised about the veracity of their testing and test scores. State legislators on the Education Committee have raised red flags only to be told they have to file Freedom of Information Act requests to get the information they need to make a realistic assessment of the EAA’s performance.

    Not only have EAA administrators been evasive and failed to produce evidence to support their claims of success, they have been found to be leaving special needs students behind.

    All of this has led to a number ofteachers groups to boycott student teachers from EMU’s education program. Why? Because EMU is has partnered with the EAA since 2011 and is, in fact, the only one of Michigan’s 15 public universities to do so.

    Today we learn that the Dean of EMU’s College of Education, Jann Joseph, has resigned from her position on the board directors of the EAA, effective last Saturday. Her resignation letter was short and to the point:

    I have resigned from the EAA Board of Directors, effective November 30, 2013.

    Thank you for your continued support,

    Jann Joseph

    Dean, College of Education

    She has given no reason for her resignation but faculty members’ outrage plus a planned protest during the EAA’s board meeting tomorrow, Tuesday, December 3rd may have played a role. The protest will be followed by a “Teach-In on the Education Achievement Authority” and starts at 7:45 a.m.

    Here is the schedule for the Teach-In:

    Introduction and Welcome
    Dr. Steve Camron, Special Education
    Dr. Rebecca Martusewicz, Teacher EducationPanel 1: 10:10-11:00
    Dr. Tom Pedroni, Wayne State University
    Rep. Ellen Lipton, MI House of Representatives
    Ms. Michelle Fecteau, MI State Board of Education
    Ms. Elena Herrada, Detroit Public Schools Board of Ed.

    Panel 2: 11:00-11:30
    Ms. Brooke Harris, Former EAA Teacher
    Mr. Christopher Turkaly, Former EAA Teacher
    Mr. Delbert Glaze, Former EAA Teacher

    Panel 3: 11:30-12:00
    EMU Faculty

    Discussion: 12:00-12:30
    Further Action

    Read more about what’s happening with the EAA and EMU on Eclectablog

    Join the Conversation! Share and Discuss!

    Tags: » » » »


    Leave a Comment


    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 275 other followers